5 Myths About Workers’ Compensation in Long Island
Long Island Workplace Injury Lawyers Discuss
If you have been injured on the job, our Long Island workplace injury lawyers can help you pursue the compensation you deserve. Workers’ compensation cases can be complex, and many individuals fail to understand the benefits they are entitled to receive. Here are 5 myths about workers’ compensation:
- The employer must be at fault in order to receive compensation. – No! In fact, you can receive compensation even if the injury it is at no fault of your employer, even if the injury was caused by another employee or your own negligence. A Long Island workplace injury lawyer knows that the only cases that may not be covered are if the employee is under the influence or not obeying the law.
- Workers’ compensation cases are mostly fraudulent. – No! Actually, most workers have legitimate injuries and strong cases for compensation. Studies have shown that only 1-2 percent of workers’ compensation cases nationwide are fraudulent. Polsky, Shouldice, & Rosen are among the best workers’ comp lawyers Nassau has to offer, and we understand that the vast majority of cases are simply hurt workers trying to recover from their injuries.
- Worker’s compensation will cover my pain and suffering. – No! It is extremely difficult to receive pain and suffering payment in workers’ compensation cases. In fact, in most cases if you receive workers’ compensation benefits, you cannot pursue a case for pain and suffering. Your Nassau workers’ comp lawyer can help you maximize your compensation claim, however.
- I cannot receive compensation because I didn’t report my injury immediately. – No! Although it is important to report your injury as soon as possible, you have up to 30 days to submit a written report of your injury in New York. Some injuries are more progressive in nature, and do not have a rapid onset of symptoms. In these cases, you have up to two years from the time that you knew, or should have known, about the injury.
- You can only see the doctor that your company selects. – No! In New York, your employer can require you to see a specific PPO doctor for your injuries for the first 30 days. After 30 days, however, you are free to choose any doctor you wish to manage your care.
Contact Our Long Island Work Injury Lawyers Today
As you have learned, there are many workers’ compensation myths. That’s why it is critical to have experienced Long Island workplace injury lawyers on your side. To learn more about workers’ compensation and to receive help in your case, contact a Long Island work injury attorney today.